Is smashing your opponent’s service legal?

by Raja


Question: Smash service is legal?

Hi Raja, thanks for your question.

Did you mean the ‘receiver’ moving forward to perform a smash after the server on the other side delivers the badminton serve?

Yes it is legal but only if the receiver moves AFTER the server delivers the service.

This means that the receiver is only allowed to move forward after the server’s racket makes contact with the shuttlecock.

Otherwise, it will be a fault on the receiver.

Common in Doubles

It is actually very common (especially in badminton doubles) for receivers to leap forward and try to smash the shuttle once a service has been delivered.

This is because receivers in doubles will normally stand nearer to the front (usually right behind the service line) to receive the serve, considering that the service boundaries for doubles is shorter than singles.

Less Chance to Happen in Singles

This is unlikely to happen in badminton singles because the receiver in a singles game usually stands around the centre of the court to receive a service.

They can’t stand too far in front because the opponent can perform a high serve.

Therefore, there wouldn’t be many opportunities for the singles receiver to smash, since they don’t stand near the net as compared to the doubles’ receivers.

Practice the Low Serve

From your perspective, you might feel a little unfair as your opponent strikes a smash right after you serve.

Therefore what you can do is POLISH your skills on your low serve.

Practise your low serve until it is perfect; shuttle passing across right above the net to the other side.

By doing this, your opponent won’t be able to do a smash on your service because in order to smash, you’ll first need a good angle and you’ll usually need to make contact with the shuttle at a high point.

If you are able to keep the shuttle as low as possible, your opponent will NOT be able to perform the smash.

You might want to read more on badminton service faults.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It’s easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Questions on Rules.